I chose to live 

The Ghosts of Tal'Afar

Yesterday was the 11th anniversary of the death of one of my childhood best friends Neil Santoriello. He died on 13 August 2004 in Khallidiyah, Iraq. I used to commemorate this every year in some form or fashion. There were some years that I admittedly forgot all about it until the date had passed; I had got consumed in my own life and everything that was going on with me at the time.

The 10th anniversary I didn’t forget. And yesterday I also didn’t forget. And after a long day at work and doing other various chores I wanted to sit down and write here on the blog about Neil – some soliloquy I’d come up with while pacing in my apartment and then sit down and hammer out on the keyboard.

But I didn’t.

I knew that I wanted to do this, and I had thought all day at…

View original post 374 more words

Leave a Reply

